Wednesday, September 16, 2020

How To Apply For Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana?

Launched in the year 2015, the Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana (PMAY) is an initiative by the Indian government. This project aims to provide houses at affordable rates for first-timers.

  • The project is classified into two: PMAY Gramin (PMAY-G) and PMAY Urban (PMAY-U)

  • PMAY- G is for the people living in rural areas

  • PMAY- U is for those who live in urban areas

  • Aims to construct more than 2 Million pucca houses by 2022

  • The houses will have access to basic amenities like electricity, water and LPG connections.

  • Eligible candidates will receive subsidized rates of interests on home loans.

  • The candidates should belong to one of the following groups: Low-income, mid-income, or economically backward.

The individual who wishes to apply for PMAY must have an Aadhaar. Aadhaar eKYC will help to prove the identity of that person. Aadhaar eKYC is done through Aadhaar authentication where the biometric and demographic information of the individual is shared with the UIDAI. The UIDAI (Unique Identification Authority of India) is the Aadhaar issuing authority. The UIDAI compares the data submitted to the information stored on their database and responds with a ‘Yes’/’No’.

PMAY - Eligibility Criteria 

To be eligible for PMAY your annual income must fall into one among the 4 groups given below.

  1. Lower Income Group: To be in the LIG group, the annual income of your family should be between Rupees 3 Lakhs and Rupees 6 Lakhs.

  2. Middle Income Group I: The annual income of a MIG I family should be between Rupees 6 Lakhs and Rupees 12 Lakhs.

  3.  Middle Income Group II: The annual income of a MIG II family is more than Rupees 12 Lakhs. However, it should not be more than 18 Lakhs.

  4. Economically Weaker Section: The annual income of an EWS family should be Rs 3 Lakhs or less.

Besides, the applicant or her/his family must not own a pucca house anywhere in India to be eligible for this housing scheme.  They should also have not received the benefits of any other housing projects run by the Indian government.

How To Apply For PMAY? 

The different methods by which you can apply for PMAY are given below:

Online Method

Follow the steps given below to apply for PMAY online.

  • You need to identify the particular group under which you qualify for.

  1. Slum Dwellers Category

  2. Other 3 Components Category (EWS, LIG MIG I&II)

And then follow the below steps:

  • Log on to 

  • Select ‘Citizen Assessment’ from the main menu

  • Select the category of applicant

  • You'll be redirected to another page.

  • Fill in your Aadhaar details there.

  • Fill in the application form online.

  • Include personal, bank account, income and residential information.

  • Type in Captcha Code

  • Recheck the details for errors and submit it

The status of your application may be checked by selecting the option ‘Track Your Assessment Status’.

Offline Method

Those of you who do not have the option to apply for PMAY online can do it offline.

  • Approach a Common Service Center operated by the state government.

  • Duly fill-in and submit the application form.

  • The fee for the application is Rs.25 (plus GST)

  • Banks or private firms do not have the authorization to accept offline applications.

Once you’ve submitted your PMAY application form successfully an application number will be allotted to you. The names of all the eligible candidates whose applications are approved will be mentioned in the PMAY list.  You can use your application number to check if your name is there on that list.  

For more information contact us.
We, Finahub, are experts in Aadhaar related products and services like eSign, eKYC, Authentication, etc. If you want to know how your enterprise can start using it, please give us a call  @ 0484 2388285 or email us at [email protected]